Top 5 Facts About DWLS Charges in Maryland
A charge of driving while license suspended is a serious traffic offense. The key to facing criminal charges, however, is to have knowledge that your license was suspended when police pulled you over. Knowledge can come from a letter from the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration announcing the suspension of your license or you may know your license is suspended due to a prior conviction.
If you are concerned about charges for driving on a suspended license, work with a Baltimore suspended license lawyer to fight the suspension and help you avoid the worst penalties. An experienced attorney will do whatever it takes to preserve your driver’s license and reputation.
You Can Go to Jail for Driving on a Suspended License
In the state of Maryland, drivers who are convicted on a charge of driving while license suspended may end up in jail for a period of up to 60 days. They may also face steep fines and points against their license. The accumulation of points can lead to lengthier periods of suspension or license revocation.
Driving is a Privilege, Not a Right
Some people mistakenly believe they have the right to drive a vehicle. This is not the case in Maryland. The Courts have defined that obtaining a driver’s license is a privilege in State vs. Sullivan (407 Md. 493).
You Can Expect Points Against your License for a DWLS Conviction
If you are charged with DWLS you may experience one of several outcomes. Your case may be dismissed, you may be acquitted of the charges, found guilty, found not guilty, or you may be placed on probation. If you are found guilty of DWLS, the Court will notify the MVA, which will assess points to your record.
From there, you may face several outcomes depending on how many points you have accumulated in a two-year period
There are Different Charges for Driving on a Suspended License
In Maryland, you may be charged one of several ways for driving with a suspended license:
- Driving on a suspended license “H”
- Driving on a suspended license “C”
The “H” charge of DWLS is the less severe charge of the two possible charges for driving with a suspended license in Maryland. With an H charge, you can receive 3 points against your license, a sentence of up to 60 days in jail, and a fine of up to $500.
With a “C” charge of DWLS, you can receive 12 points against your license, a sentence of up to one year in jail, and a fine of up to $1,000.
Fighting DWLS Charges in Maryland
Talk to an attorney to understand the charge against you and fight to protect your driver’s license. Hillel Traub of The Law Office of Hillel Traub has over 25 years of experience fighting traffic charges in Baltimore and surrounding areas and has served as the former Assistant Attorney General for the MVA. His goal is to help you eliminate the license suspension charge from your record so you can continue to live your life.
Contact The Law Office of Hillel Traub for a free consultation by calling (410) 580-1100 or complete our contact form.