Baltimore Suspended License Defense Lawyer


Driving with a suspended license in Baltimore or anywhere in Maryland is a serious offense that is often committed with lack of regard for the consequences. License suspension or revocation may seem to occur randomly, but numerous instances may lead to a suspended license, the most common being point accumulation.

Whenever you get a parking citation, speeding ticket, or another citation for any traffic infraction, points are added to your license if you admit guilt. The state recognizes you paying a citation as an admission of guilt. If you fight the ticket in court or agree to enroll in a driving improvement course, you can possibly avoid the addition of points to your license. The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) follows an outlined manner of addressing point accumulation:

  • 3-4 Points: Mailed warning letter
  • 5-7 Points: Required completion of a Driver Improvement Program
  • 8-11 Points: License suspension
  • 12+ Points: License revocation

Maryland allows drivers to track their points by ordering their driving record through the MVA; however, many drivers aren’t aware of their status until it is too late.

Penalties for Driving With a Suspended License

Those caught driving with a suspended or revoked license will be arrested and charged with a misdemeanor offense.

The penalties depend on whether the offense falls under M.T.A § 16-303(h) or M.T.A § 16-303(c). “H” charges are less severe than “C” charges as they are associated with failing to pay a traffic ticket or appear in court. The penalties for an “H” charge are:

  • 3 points added to driving record
  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines

“C” charges are more severe as they pertain to child support noncompliance, point suspensions, and DUI/DWI suspensions. The penalties for this charge are:

  • 12 points added to driving record
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines

Under M.T.A § 16-303(d), individuals caught driving with a revoked license will face the same penalties as a “C” charge. While both charges merit up to 12 points to one’s license, the additional points for one with a revoked license will extend the period which he or she cannot legally drive in Maryland.

Speak With a Suspended License Lawyer Today!

Prosecutors must prove several factors beyond a reasonable doubt to prove you drove with a suspended or revoked license. The most important factor they must establish is knowledge. They must be able to prove to the court that you knew your license was suspended or revoked and still made the conscious decision to operate a motor vehicle. The best way to combat the efforts of the prosecution is by acquiring the legal representation of a seasoned Baltimore driving on a suspended license attorney.

The Law Office of Hillel Traub has experience defending against serious traffic offenses for Maryland drivers and can do the same for you. We can analyze the facts of your case, represent you in the court of law, and even help expedite the license reinstatement process. Contact us today at 410-580-1100 for a free consultation and to discuss your legal options.

Contact Us Today

Fill out our short form to get more information.

Schedule a FREE Consult!