Driving Without Vehicle Registration in Baltimore
It is against the law in Maryland to drive a car without registration. Registration of your vehicle informs the state that you are paying the necessary fees on your car and that it is safe to drive. Driving without registering your vehicle is also a violation of the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). The MVA needs to know where you keep your vehicles so they can send you important notices.
The Maryland Transportation Code states that it is a criminal misdemeanor offense to drive or knowingly allow someone to drive an unregistered vehicle. If you have received a citation for driving without registration, contact a knowledgeable driving without registration lawyer in Baltimore and the surrounding areas to protect your rights and driving privilege.
What are State Requirements for Vehicle Registration in Maryland?
The State of Maryland requires all vehicle owners to register their cars. This allows the state to ensure that fees are paid on all vehicles and that operational vehicles meet safety and emission standards. Without registration, the state cannot know if the car is safe to drive.
What are the Penalties for Driving Without Registration?
A person may incur penalties for driving an unregistered vehicle that can negatively impact his driving record. Whether the car was never registered, has expired plates, or the registration was previously suspended or revoked, driving such a vehicle is a violation for which a person may face a fine of up to $500.
Often, those who are caught driving unregistered vehicles in Baltimore have failed to obtain auto insurance coverage. Driving without insurance is a more serious offense in Maryland than driving without registration. If you face charges for both of these serious traffic violations, you can put your mind at ease by contacting attorney Hillel Traub to help you understand the charges against you.
Contact Our Driving Without Registration Lawyers in Baltimore, MD Today!
There may be several reasons you failed to register your car. After receiving a citation, you might be inclined to register your car, but may be worried that you will get arrested for attempting to register after the fact. Put your concerns to rest with the expertise of a skilled Baltimore traffic violation defense lawyer.
Hillel Traub of The Law Office of Hillel Traub has decades of experience helping Baltimore residents resolve traffic issues. He has served as the Assistant Attorney General for the MVA and puts his expertise to work for clients to help them obtain favorable results. Receive a free case review by calling (410) 580-1100.
What are the penalties for driving with expired vehicle registration in Maryland?
If you drive an unregistered car in Maryland or allow others to drive your car without valid registration, you can be fined up to $500.
Is driving without vehicle registration in Maryland considered a misdemeanor?
An individual who drives without registration faces a hefty fine of up to $500 and other restrictions on their driver’s license. There are no other restrictions. Charges of this kind can appear on your driving record.