Driving Without a License Ticket after an Accident 

Driving without a License Ticket after an Accident 

Unlicensed driving is illegal in Maryland. If caught without a license, drivers will receive a traffic citation. If you received a ticket for driving without a license after you were involved in a car accident, you may be wondering if you will be held responsible for the accident as a result. Before you can be held accountable for an accident, you must be shown to have acted negligently or recklessly.

In any case, failure to have a valid license does not necessarily imply recklessness or carelessness. If you were recently arrested or ticketed for driving without a license after an accident, make sure you contact a trusted Baltimore traffic offense lawyer for professional representation.

What Does It Mean to Drive without a License in Maryland?

Failure to display your license is not the same as driving without a license. Maryland licensees who simply forget their licenses at home or misplace them should only be charged with failure to display. On the other hand, driving without a license is a Maryland traffic violation that means you lack driving privileges.

In addition, having a license that is revoked or suspended is not the same as driving without one. A suspended license or a revoked license is an offense different from driving without a license but no less serious. Driving while suspended convictions can cost up to $1,000, resulting in 1 year in prison, and possibly the full revocation of your license. Similarly, driving with a revoked license entails jail time and fines, and the process of regaining your license is considerably more difficult.

How Does Maryland’s Law View Driving without a License?

Maryland considers driving without a license a traffic offense punishable by arrest. If you are found operating a vehicle without a valid license in the state, you may incur harsh fines and be subject to jail time.

In Maryland, under the Maryland Transportation Code Section 16-101, no person may drive a motor vehicle on any road unless they meet the following requirements:

  • The individual has a valid license to drive
  • The individual is exempted from the requirement to hold a license
  • The individual has specific authorization to drive the type of vehicle they are driving or trying to drive
A first-time violation of operating without a license could result in a fine of up to $500 as well as 60 days in jail. Further, you may receive 5 points on your driving license. The following penalties may apply for a second offense:

  • A maximum of one year in prison
  • Additional fines up to $500

An Unlicensed Driver in an Accident Can Still Recover Damages

When an unlicensed driver is involved in a traffic accident, they are not automatically held responsible for causing the accident. The question of liability is rather one of negligence. Accordingly, fault depends on whose actions were not considered safe and responsible. In other words, an unlicensed driver is not inherently responsible for a crash simply because they lack a valid driver’s license. Liability arises when a driver acts negligently and that negligence results in an accident.

Therefore, if your accident was the result of another’s negligence, you might be able to file a personal injury lawsuit against the negligent driver to obtain compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. A Maryland traffic offense attorney can assist you in defending yourself against charges of driving without a license, in addition to constructing a solid claim for your injury.

Experienced Representation for Drivers without a License after an Accident

Even if you are not licensed, you can still file a claim against the at-fault party or his insurance company for damages and injuries. Basically, you still have legal rights when you drive without a license. However, whether you get into an accident or not, driving without a valid driver’s license comes with penalties. Whatever the case may be, do yourself a favor and seek the counsel of a Maryland personal injury and traffic offense lawyer at the Law Offices of Hillel Traub to work toward the best possible outcome. Contact us today by calling (410) 580-1100 for a free consultation.