Driving Without Insurance Ticket after an Accident 

Driving without Insurance Ticket after an Accident 

All Maryland drivers must have auto insurance. Driving without insurance is a severe offense, with equally severe punishments. Penalties may range from hefty fines to loss of license to jail. Furthermore, the effects of driving without car insurance may be even more detrimental if you are involved in an auto accident.

If police officers charged you with driving without insurance in Maryland, contact the Law Office of Hillel Traub. Attorney Hillel Traub is a fierce traffic defense attorney who can protect you from these charges and possibly secure compensation for your injuries.

What Constitutes Driving Without Insurance?

Driving without insurance in Maryland means knowingly driving an uninsured vehicle. Additionally, all Maryland drivers must have proof of insurance card in their vehicles. Driving without an insurance card may still cause you to receive a ticket, even if your car has the minimum insurance requirements. These are complex charges, and you will need the assistance of an experienced traffic defense attorney.

How Much Car Insurance Do I Need in Maryland?

Maryland residents must ensure they meet the legal standard required for auto insurance. The minimum standard is:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: $30,000 minimum per person/$60,000 minimum per accident
  • Property damage liability coverage: $15,000 minimum
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $30,000 minimum per person/$60,000 per accident
  • Personal injury protection: $2,500 minimum.
While these are the minimum standards all Maryland drivers must meet, they may choose additional coverage that meets their needs.

Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Maryland

Driving in Maryland without insurance or a lapse in insurance can be a severe offense, and Maryland has a system of automatic fines penalizing lapses. Penalties vary depending on whether this was your first offense or not and whether you had a lapse in insurance.

Penalties for First Offense

Penalties for a first offense of driving without insurance may include:

  • Fines of up to $1,000
  • Up to 5 points on your license
  • Up to one year in jail
Remember, you may lose your Maryland license after receiving 5 points, and points stay on your license for two years.

Penalties for Second and Subsequent Offenses

For second and subsequent offenses for driving without insurance, penalties increase.

  • Fines of up to $2,000
  • Up to 5 points on your license
  • Up to two years in prison
Additionally, second and subsequent offenses may raise your insurance premium rates.

Additional Penalties for Lapse in Auto Insurance Coverage

Even if police officers do not immediately catch or charge you with a crime, allowing your insurance coverage to lapse on your vehicle may lead to additional administrative fines through the Motor Vehicle Association (MVA). Fines have a maximum of $2,500 for each violation within 12 months.

Additional penalties may include:

  • $150 for lapses less than 30 days; $7 for each additional day of lapsed coverage
  • $25 restoration fee for a vehicle’s registration

What Happens If I get in an Accident Without Car Insurance?

If you drive an uninsured vehicle and get into a car accident in Maryland, you might be liable for the other driver’s damages. However, they may be able to sue you since they cannot seek compensation through an insurance company.

Should I Hire a Driving Without Insurance Attorney?

You should hire an attorney if you face driving without insurance charges. Penalties are severe, even for first-time offenders. A conviction will also stay on your criminal record, which you must disclose when applying to jobs. While employers cannot discriminate against a candidate with a criminal background, they may hire one who has a clean record. Ultimately, the consequences of driving without insurance could affect your life for years to come.

Working with a traffic criminal defense attorney that knows Maryland’s court system may be your best chance of avoiding severe penalties. An attorney may also help protect you if you unknowingly drove an uninsured vehicle and fight your charges.

Contact the Law Office of Hillel Traub Today

At the Law Office of Hillel Traub, Attorney Traub can help you possibly avoid the consequences of driving without auto insurance in Maryland. Additionally, he can help you seek a claim against a negligent driver who caused your car crash and injuries. Attorney Traub is a skilled and knowledgeable personal injury and criminal defense attorney who has assisted thousands of injured victims and those facing criminal charges. For legal assistance, speak to an experienced Maryland traffic defense attorney today by calling (410) 580-1100 or completing our contact form.