What Happens If I Get a Ticket While Driving on a Provisional License in Maryland?
To obtain a Maryland driver’s license, drivers first have to participate in a graduated license system (GLS). Drivers who are at least 16 years and 6 months old who have gained at least nine months of experience behind the wheel with a learner’s permit are allowed a Maryland provisional license as the second step in the Rookie Driver Program. Drivers can later apply for a driver’s license after holding a provisional license for at least 18 months and maintaining a clean driving record before becoming eligible.
If you get a ticket while driving on a provisional license in Maryland, it may impact your ability to drive. Some offenses may even carry a maximum penalty of jail time if not handled effectively. Below, we’ll consider details of a Maryland provisional license and the potential repercussions of receiving a ticket while driving on one.
What Are the Conditions for a Provisional Driver’s License in Maryland?
To be eligible for a Maryland provisional license, you must meet the following criteria:
- Be 16.5 years old or older
- Pass a Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) -licensed and -approved standardized driver education program
- Submit a completed Practice Skills Log signed by a qualified supervising driver
Applicants must demonstrate they have logged at least 60 hours of driving time with a supervised driver before they’re eligible to graduate from a learner’s permit to a provisional license. A supervising driver can be anyone who is at least 21 years old with at least three years of experience driving on a full license and behind the wheel instruction by a licensed teacher.
What Happens If I Get a Ticket While Driving on a Provisional License?
If you get a ticket while driving on a provisional license in Maryland, you may face challenging consequences that depend on the number of violations on your driving record. Potential penalties include completion of a driver improvement program, suspension of your license, and the delay of your full license.
If you are convicted of a moving offense, the imposed MVA administrative sanctions are as follows:
- First conviction: Driver improvement courses
- Second conviction: 30-day license suspension
- Third or subsequent conviction: 180-day license suspension or revocation
If you’re found guilty of the driving offense, the violation will be reflected on your driver’s record and the waiting period of 18 months restarts before you can apply for a full driver’s license. Further, the MVA may suspend your provisional license regardless of the offense and the number of points. 
Maryland Provisional License Restrictions
Provisional driver’s licenses in Maryland carry curfew restrictions for drivers under the age of 18. If you are under 18 years old on a provisional license, you cannot drive between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. unless you meet the following criteria:
- You have a licensed driver present who’s over the age of 21 with a minimum of 3 years of driving experience
- You are driving to, from, or during your job
- You are driving to or from a school activity
- You are driving to or from an established volunteer program
- You are driving to or from an athletic event or related practice session
If you are over the age of 18, the provisional driver’s license curfew restrictions do not apply, and you can drive at any time you wish.
What Happens if I Receive a Probation Before Judgment with a Provisional License?
If you receive a probation before judgement (PBJ) while on a provisional license, you do not receive any of the benefits of a PBJ. Typically, a person facing a traffic violation may receive a probation before judgement, in which they would pay the fine for their violation but avoid points on their license and a stain on their driving record. If you receive a probation before judgment while on a provisional license, you don’t get these benefits.
Drivers Over 25 Years Old
If you are at 25 years or older, Maryland’s GLS works differently. After obtaining a learner’s permit, you only need to hold it for 45 days without any moving violation convictions before becoming eligible to apply for a full Maryland driver’s license. However, you must still pass an MVA-approved standardized driver education program and log at least 14 hours of supervised driving time before you qualify for a full license.
Contact Baltimore’s Dedicated Traffic Attorney for a Free Consultation
Suppose you’re charged with a moving violation or a criminal driving offense that carries a potential jail time penalty. In that case, it is critical to your freedom and driving privileges that you handle this situation effectively. Other possible consequences may include fines and a loss of employment should you face a license suspension. There are numerous defense strategies and circumstances that may lessen your charge to reach an optimal outcome.
The Law Office of Hillel Traub is led by Attorney Hillel Traub, who has spent over 20 years representing the communities of Baltimore, Maryland. Hillel Traub’s prior experience includes Assistant Attorney General for the Maryland MVA, which provides him a unique insight into your Maryland traffic or criminal violation. To speak with Hillel Traub about your situation, schedule a free case review by completing a contact form or calling 410-580-1100.
- December (3)
- November (4)
- October (4)
- September (2)
- August (2)
- July (4)
- June (4)
- May (2)
- April (2)
- March (2)
- February (2)
- January (2)
- December (2)
- November (2)
- October (2)
- September (2)
- August (2)
- July (2)
- June (2)
- May (2)
- April (3)
- March (3)
- February (3)
- January (4)