Understanding the Consequences of Hit-and-Run Charges in Maryland

If you were involved in an accident but failed to stop long enough to exchange necessary information or provide aid to injured parties involved, you may be charged with a hit-and-run. Hit-and-run charges can result in serious penalties, including fines, probation, license suspension, and even jail time, depending on the severity of the incident. To avoid harsh consequences, contact a hit-and-run accident lawyer as soon as possible. 

Attorney Hillel Traub at The Law Office of Hillel Traub has over 30 years of experience representing hit-and-run accident clients. We know that being charged with hit-and-run allegations can be overwhelming, but we will fight for you every step of the way to achieve the best possible outcome for your case. 

Maryland Hit-and-Run Laws 

You must follow the following steps at an accident scene—even if there is no damage to the other vehicle or if it is a one-car accident—that involves any property damage, bodily injuries, or death: 

  • Assist any injured parties
  • Call emergency services and law enforcement for anyone who requests it or requires medical attention
  • Provide name, contact information, and vehicle registration number to any individual injured in the accident 
  • Provide contact information and other details to the responding police officer

However, if you don’t follow these steps and instead leave the scene, you can be charged with a hit-and-run. If this happens, contact an experienced hit-and-run lawyer immediately to protect your rights. It’s best to obtain legal counsel before providing any information to law enforcement, as anything you say can be used against you. Even if law enforcement seems like they are on your side, keeping silent is one of the best ways to build a strong defense and increase your chances of a favorable outcome. 

Hit-and-Run Consequences and Penalties 

Maryland has strict hit-and-run penalties for individuals who leave the scene of an accident without completing their obligations to other drivers and pedestrians. According to Maryland Transportation Code § 27-113, if an accident results in serious bodily injury, a hit-and-run is charged as a felony with up to five years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines. If the collision results in death, penalties increase to a felony with up to 10 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine. 

Additionally, if convicted, you may receive eight to twelve points on your driving record, which can result in license suspension or revocation.

How Can a Hit-and-Run Attorney Help?

Working with an experienced hit-and-run lawyer at The Law Office of Hillel Traub can help you understand your best legal options. We can help you with the following aspects of your case to build the best defense possible to protect your rights, freedom, and driving privileges:

  • Providing personalized legal counsel and guidance 
  • Negotiating with relevant parties on your behalf
  • Collecting information and evidence for your case
  • Building a solid defense strategy
  • Interviewing accident eyewitnesses 

A sudden accident can cause you to think and act rashly and unreasonably in the moment, resulting in decisions that you potentially wouldn’t have made had it not been a stressful or frightening situation. We will fiercely advocate for you and build a strong defense to potentially minimize or drop the charges you face. 

Contact a Hit-and-Run Lawyer at The Law Office of Hillel Traub 

As a former lawyer for the MVA, Attorney Hillel Traub at The Law Office of Hillel Traub understands what it takes to protect clients’ rights in hit-and-run cases. With our extensive resources and focused knowledge, we tailor our legal services to your needs, increasing your chances of a favorable outcome. 

Schedule a free consultation by calling (410) 580-1100 or filling out a contact form today.