Everything You Need to Know About Maryland’s Car Insurance Requirements

Car insurance is a necessary expense for Maryland drivers, and it is essential to understand the requirements to ensure you are properly covered in cases of an accident. Failure to hold insurance results in serious legal penalties, including license suspension or even revocation depending on the circumstance.

In Maryland, it is advisable to hold three types of insurance to register a vehicle: liability insurance coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection. Ensuring you carry these can prevent you from paying out of pocket for medical expenses, lost wages, and other losses in instances where you might be at fault for a collision. At The Law Office of Hillel Traub, we are well-versed in Maryland’s car insurance requirements and can provide experienced legal counsel during your complimentary consultation.

Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in Maryland

The state of Maryland requires all drivers to carry a minimum level of car insurance coverage. Your policy must comply with the following requirements at all times:

  • $30,000 for injuries or death for one individual
  • $60,000 for injuries or death of two or more individuals
  • $15,000 for property damage

Bodily injury coverage pays for medical bills and other expenses related to injuries sustained by another person in an accident for which you are liable. Property damage pays for vehicle repair or replacement.

Additional Coverage Options for Car Insurance

You may also want to consider additional coverage options to protect yourself and your vehicle. This optional coverage may include:

  • Collision coverage: Covers vehicle damage regardless of who is at fault
  • Comprehensive coverage: Covers damage to your vehicle from incidents other than collisions, such as theft or inclement weather
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: Covers expenses related to an accident caused by someone who doesn’t hold insurance or doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your expenses.

Personal injury protection (PIP) covers medical expenses and lost income for victims who are injured in an accident by up to $2,500, regardless of fault. According to Md. Code Insurance, § 19-505, complete PIP covers you, members of your family, and non-family passengers. Limited PIP coverage excludes benefits for you and members of your family over 16, which is more cost-effective and may be more beneficial if you have good medical insurance.

Penalties for Driving Underinsured or Uninsured in Maryland

You are required to carry proof of insurance with you as a driver in Maryland. If you’re pulled over by law enforcement or involved in an accident, you may receive a traffic citation if you cannot provide proof of insurance.

Administrative penalties imposed by MVA for driving without insurance in Maryland include the following:

  • $150 fine for the 30 days and $7 for subsequent days, up to a maximum of $2,500
  • Registration suspension
  • Your vehicle may be impounded, and you may be ticketed and/or fined if you drive with a suspended registration

First-time offenders can also face a fine of up to $1,000 and up to one-year imprisonment if they drive without insurance, according to Md. Code Transportation, §17-107. Second or subsequent offenders face a fine of up to $1,000, up to two years imprisonment, and points that could lead to suspension.

Contact the Experienced Traffic Violations Lawyer at The Law Office of Hillel Traub

Understanding Maryland’s car insurance requirements is essential for all drivers. By carrying minimum insurance coverage and considering optional coverage options, you can protect yourself and others in the event of an accident. At The Law Office of Hillel Traub, we can provide legal guidance for drivers who seek to reduce or eliminate penalties for traffic violations related to driving without insurance.

Attorney Hillel Traub is a former Attorney General for the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration. He has over 30 years of experience and unique insight that can make a difference in the success of your case. Schedule a complimentary consultation by calling (410) 580-1100 or filling out our contact form.