What Happens If You Fail to Move Over for an Emergency Vehicle in Maryland?

Many people might wonder what happens if they fail to move over for an emergency vehicle in Maryland, and the truth is that someone could face misdemeanor charges for such a failure. Maryland has a “Move Over” traffic law that applies to emergency vehicles, law enforcement vehicles, tow trucks, and other types of service vehicles. Failing to move over or slow your speed if you cannot change lanes safely could lead to serious consequences.

If you find yourself facing charges for failure to move over, you may benefit from consulting with an attorney at the Law Office of Hillel Traub. We offer free consultations to potential clients to explain your legal rights. This can help arm you with the knowledge you need after being charged with failing to move over for an emergency vehicle.

What Is the Maryland “Move Over” Law?

The most recent version of Maryland’s “Move Over” law was passed in October of 2018. The law’s previous version required motorists to switch lanes to protect certain vehicles that were stopped on the side of the road. Unfortunately, vehicles that do not move over or slow down their speed significantly can put lives in danger when they fail to see stopped vehicles, people, or emergency personnel working on the sides of highways or roads.

The Maryland Department of Transportation worked to protect their own workers by encouraging the expansion of the law to include service vehicles. The “Move Over” law now applies to service vehicles, transportation vehicles and personnel, utility vehicles and workers, and waste/recycling trucks in addition to law enforcement, emergency vehicles, and tow trucks.

Under this law, motorists must either switch over at least one lane or slow to a safe speed as they carefully pass the vehicles stopped along the side of the road. Failing to perform either of these required actions could result in a driver being charged with a misdemeanor traffic offense.

What Are the Potential Penalties for Failure to Move Over?

Maryland authorities are taking serious steps to enforce this law in an effort to protect emergency personnel, service workers, and others forced to stop along the sides of roads. Potential penalties for violating this law include:

  • A $110 fine, admin fees, and 1 point on your driving record
  • A $150 fine, admin fees, and 3 points on your record in the event of a collision involving an emergency or service vehicle
  • A $750 fine, admin fees, and 3 points on your record if that collision causes serious injury or death

If you find yourself charged with a failure to move over violation, it’s important to fully understand the charges and your rights. Consulting with an experienced traffic attorney can help you obtain the knowledge you need to prepare a vigorous legal defense.

Contact the Law Office of Hillel Traub Today for Help with Your Traffic Violation Charge

At the Law Office of Hillel Traub, our legal team is experienced in preparing defenses against traffic violation charges. We evaluate each person’s case based upon their specific circumstances and offer potential legal strategies. You can call us at (410) 580-1100 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation at your earliest convenience.