A Guide to Maryland’s Teen Driving Laws

Getting a driver’s license is a milestone that many teens look forward to, but parents may feel a mixture of pride and worry as their children gain more independence. For Maryland parents and teens, it’s important to know Maryland’s driving laws, including the state’s rookie driver program, motorcycle regulations, and drinking and driving policy. This helps teens stay safe and avoid collisions, which are too common for those in this age range. According to the CDC, about 227,000 U.S. teens were injured in car accidents in 2020.

At The Law Office of Hillel Traub, we know the importance of helping parents and young drivers understand teen driving laws so everyone can remain focused and drive safely. If your teen gets into an accident due to someone else’s negligence, we can help seek the justice you deserve and hold the liable party accountable. With over 30 years of experience, you can trust Hillel Traub to provide the knowledge and resources you need to better understand state laws and how to achieve a successful outcome in the event of an accident.

3 Important Maryland Teen Driving Laws Young Drivers and Parents Should Know

Because accident rates among teen drivers are so high, Maryland has implemented several laws and programs to encourage safe driving and allow teens to gain valuable driving experience under a seasoned driver. Some important laws new drivers and parents should familiarize themselves with include the following:

Maryland’s Rookie Driver Program

Maryland’s Graduated Licensing System, also known as the Rookie Driver Program, applies to all new drivers, including teens, and poses strict restrictions and regulations. This program involves the following three levels:

  • Learner’s permit: This is issued to drivers who are at least 15 years and nine months of age. Once they pass the knowledge and vision test, they must drive with another driver who is at least 21 years old and has three or more years of driving experience. The supervising driver must complete practice logs for the learner’s permit holder.
  • Provisional license: Individuals at least 16 years and six months old can receive this license. They must complete a standardized driver’s education course and pass a skills test. Those under 18 cannot drive between 12 and 5 a.m. or have passengers outside their household for five months unless accompanied by a qualified driver.
  • Driver’s license: Once the new driver completes the first two stages and turns 18, they can receive a driver’s license.

When learning to drive, teens must complete 60 hours of practice with a supervising driver, including 10 hours at night. Additionally, teen drivers must maintain a conviction-free record to be eligible for a provisional license.

Motorcycle Laws

Teens under 18 can ride a motorcycle in Maryland, but they need a Class M license, which is subject to the same rules under the Graduated License Program. They must complete an approved driver education and motorcycle safety course, which includes classroom and road experience.

Zero-Tolerance Policy for Underage Drinking and Driving

Maryland has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. Therefore, if a teen is found with a 0.02 or higher blood alcohol concentration (BAC), they may get their license suspended for up to two years. Additionally, drivers under 21 receive a license that says “Under 21 Alcohol Restriction.”

Learn More About Maryland’s Teen Driving Laws from the Knowledgeable Attorney at The Law Office of Hillel Traub

If you are a parent to a teen driver or a new driver starting Maryland’s Graduated License Program, it’s essential to understand state laws to ensure you are taking the proper steps. However, our lawyer at The Law Office of Hillel Traub understands these rules and regulations can be confusing. With Hillel Traub’s years of experience as a former MVA lawyer, you can rely on us to explain Maryland’s teen driver laws and help you if your teen is hurt in an accident.

We have proudly provided unmatched comprehensive legal services for over 30 years, successfully securing millions of dollars for car accident victims. We work closely with you every step of the way and create a personalized strategy based on your unique needs. Schedule a free consultation today by calling (410) 580-1100 or filling out our contact form.