What Are the Penalties for Repeat Traffic Offenses in Maryland
After a car or truck accident in Maryland, an investigation will occur shortly after discovering whether a traffic offense occurred. If law enforcement finds that the driver who caused the accident also violated Maryland’s traffic laws, he or she may face both criminal and civil penalties. Those penalties may include monetary fines and a driver’s license suspension. If authorities learn that the driver was under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol at the time of the crash, the driver could face the previously mentioned penalties and possible prison time.
What Are the Penalties for General Traffic Offenses in Maryland?
Penalties for drivers who violate general traffic laws in Maryland are detailed under the Maryland Code of Transportation § 27-101. In most instances, a traffic violation is considered a misdemeanor offense. Penalties for a misdemeanor offense are typically punishable by a maximum fine of $500.
What are the Penalties for Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License in Maryland?
Law enforcement in Maryland takes the act of driving on a suspended or revoked license seriously. This offense is a misdemeanor. Those stopped are normally arrested on the spot, since this is a criminal violation of Statute §16-303 of the Maryland Transportation Code.
After being arrested for driving on a suspended or revoked license, the prosecution will attempt to prove that you decided to drive, knowing that your driving privileges were suspended or revoked.
The penalties for driving on a suspended or revoked license in Maryland are detailed below:
● First Offense: At a minimum, first-time offenders face $500 – $1,000 in fines and two months to one year in jail.
● Second Offense: Violators can face up to two years in jail and $2,000 in fine
In addition to these penalties, those arrested for driving on a suspended or revoked license are punished with a maximum of 12 points on their license. At this point, their license becomes instantly revoked.
What are the Penalties for Failing to Pay Traffic Fines in Maryland?
Failing to pay fines for a state or federal traffic infringement can result in a license suspension if left unpaid. After a window of time has passed, the state courts will file a report with the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). At that point, the MVA allows delinquent drivers to pay their fines within ten days. If drivers still do not pay traffic fines due, the MVA suspends that person’s driver’s license.
Many times, drivers in Maryland forget or aren’t aware they have a past due fines they must pay for traffic violations. If a person’s license becomes suspended due to a lack of payment, their driving privileges will be restored once they pay the required fines.
What are the Penalties for Driving Under the Influence?
Penalties for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol are severe in Maryland. Any driver who’s found to be drunk or drugged while driving can face the following penalties:
● First Conviction: Violators face criminal fines between $500 – $2,000 with a prison sentence ranging from two months to two years.
● Second Conviction: Violators face criminal fines between $500 – $3,000 with a prison sentence ranging from one to three years.
● Third or Following Conviction: Violators face criminal fines between $3,000 – $4,000 with a prison sentence ranging from three to four years.
Contact an Experienced Criminal Traffic Attorney in Baltimore After a Traffic Offense
If you have questions about the criminal penalties stemming from a traffic offense in Maryland, The Law Office of Hillel Traub can help. Attorney Hillel Traub has extensive experience defending all types of traffic offenses throughout Baltimore and the state of Maryland. With specific experience working as a former Assistant Attorney General for the Maryland MVA, he has insider information of the MVA’s internal operations that can be a significant advantage to your case. To schedule a free consultation with Hillel Traub, complete an online contact form or call today at (410) 850-1100.